Boolean Girl

Boolean Girl

Boolean Girl Presents: The Marine Mammal Center

by 

Boolean Girl

Ages

8 - 18+ yrs

Adult participation optional
Dates

Sat, Oct 16, 2021 - Oct 16, 2021

Time

4:00pm - 6:30pm EDT

Location

Online via Zoom

Capacity

100 students


Class Experience

This event will start with a presentation by the Marine Mammal Center. The Marine Mammal Center is leading the field in ocean conservation through marine mammal rescue, veterinary medicine, science, and education. Children will learn about the work scientists, veterinarians, and thousands of volunteers do to protect the animals who live in our oceans. Following a half-hour presentation, children will have an opportunity to ask all the questions about what they can do to help protect our oceans.

Following the presentation, Boolean Girl will teach children how to build a "Keep the Ocean Clean" game using Scratch. Some Scratch knowledge is helpful, but not required.

Sample Class Format

Event schedule:

1:00-2:00 pm PT/4:00-5:00 pm ET

Marine Mammal Center Presentation

2:00-2:30 pm PT/5:00-5:30 pm ET

Break

2:30-3:30 pm PT/5:30-6:30 pm ET

Code a "Keep the Ocean Clean" game in Scratch

Other Things To Know

Adult Participation
Optional.

Feel free to join the presentation and help out with Scratch if your child needs you to!


Covid-19 Precautions

Inperson summer camps will happen with large college size classrooms for social distancing and all CDC recommended safety precautions!


How To Participate

Attend class via Zoom video

This class will be hosted on Zoom video conferencing platform. You will receive an email 30 minutes before class starts with a link to the class and access instructions. We recommend you make sure your device is up to date and meets all system requirements before class.


What To Bring

  • For the coding part of this event, you will need to have access to Scratch. To access Scratch click HERE.